MAC: Mines and Communities

Kabaui Names 10 Ministers

Published by MAC on 2005-06-24
Source: The National

Kabaui names 10 ministers

The National

24 June 2005

The president of the Autonomous Bougainville Government, Joseph Kabui, yesterday announced the appointment of a compact ten-member cabinet that will run the affairs of the newly-formed provincial government.

Mr Kabui himself will be responsible for relations with the National Government and in promoting employment and the peace process.

Eight of the ministries went to members of the ruling Bougainville People’s Congress Party, with the two others including the new leader of the New Bougainville Party, Ezekiel Masatt, and the independent member for Ramu, Moses Koiri.

Mr Kabui will take personal responsibility for inter-government affairs, labour and employment, national and international affairs, reconciliation and unity and peace.

He has appointed Joe Watawi as his vice- president with responsibility for the portfolios of public service, planning and monitoring, trade and industry, port services and micro-finance.

The former deputy governor, Gerard Sinato, has been made minister responsible for health, environment conservation water and sanitation.

Ms Magdalen Toroansi, women’s representative for Central Bougainville, is the minister responsible for women’s issues and religion, traditional authority, local level government and non-governmental organisations.

The member for North Nasioi, Mathias Salas, a former banker, has been made minister responsible for finance and treasury, minerals, petroleum and gas exploration.

The member for Ramu in Siwai, Moses Koiri, a lawyer, will be in charge of works, transport and civil aviation, lands, physical planning, growth centres, housing, energy and telecommunications and information technology.

The member for Tonsu and leader of former Governor John Momis’ New Bougainville Party, Ezekiel Masatt, also a lawyer, has been made minister responsible for police services, justice, correctional service, courts, liquor licensing, customs and quarantine.

The member for Lato in Bana, Michael Otoroa, has been made minister responsible for education, higher education, research, science and technology and ‘kastom’.

The member for Atolls, Taehu Pais, is minister responsible for fisheries, primary industries, forestry, commerce and culture and tourism.

The ex-combatants representative for Central, Glyn Tovirika, is the minister responsible for youth, veterans’ affairs, sports and recreation.

Mr Kabui called on the new ministers to contribute meaningfully to the development of Bougainville, along with other members that would be called on to serve in various committees.

Home | About Us | Companies | Countries | Minerals | Contact Us
© Mines and Communities 2013. Web site by Zippy Info